So I Ran a Half Marathon…

Half Marathon Recovery (from a 10k runners perspective):


I do not like these post race legs
My body feels like scrambled eggs

What wobbly calf have I become
Since going for my “little” run

In my glutes a plaintive cry
“Foam roll now lest we die!”

I do not like my famine gut
That thinks my mouth is now sewn shut

I need pizza! I need cake!
My fork just needs to take a break

I can’t stand from a toilet seat
Sitting down is hard to beat

What does Netflix have in store
Episode one: then I snore

I have my bling and I have smiles
No more running thirteen miles

What’s that? What’s that you say?
There is a race next Saturday?
Lace up! I’m coming out to play!

2 Comments

    1. Awww! Thank you. I had Proverbs 18:10 written on my arm in Sharpie. Whenever my body wanted to fail, I just kept saying I was safe. He has me. That was by far one of the hardest physical things God has brought me to and through.

      Like

Leave a comment