Hungry At The Potluck

Potluck. Smorgasbord. Luncheon. Banquet. Feast. Table. Supper. Spread. Fete. Whatever name it goes by, the concept is the same. Everyone involved brings a food item to share: something meaty, something wheaty, or something sweetie. And everyone gets to sample everyone else’s labor of love while chatting and having fun. Maybe even heading home with some new recipes. Culinary triumph. As I write this I am currently making BBQ chicken, scalloped potatoes, braised cabbage, and corn on the cob. It is not for potluck. It’s because I chose not to eat at one today.

The bathroom scale and I had a huge argument: it called me fat, I called it a liar. But still I decided maybe just go ahead and cut back on sweets and carbs and heavy up on lean proteins and veggies. The event I was at was light on protein and veggies and heavy on sweets and carbs. So I made decisions. I ate the last of the Martin’s when we got home. Not many chips, but not smart. So now I’m really hungry. I want FOOD!

Yesterday was a rough one for Eric and I. We spent a few hours in prayer warfare. I mention this because that’s how we prioritize: cook for potluck versus storm the gates of hell. Our swords took priority. Our contribution to the potluck was no bake cookies and a jar of my home canned pickles. I can’t complain about being hungry. I didn’t contribute much to the table myself.

It’s ironic. All of my studies right now point to God’s provision. Eric and I have a devotion we do together daily. The last few days it has been on being content in God’s provision. The study group I lead has been focused on God’s provision. My personal study has been, guess what, that’s right! God’s provision. And I can’t shake out of Psalm 23. It’s familiar to both church folk and non church folk alike.

A Psalm of David. “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul. He leads me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”

Before I have a breakdown waiting on this meal, let’s break down this song.

The Lord

Not “a” lord or “some” lord. The Lord. There is only one true living God. Without the recognition of that fact the rest of the psalm is worthless. David uses Jehovah, the proper Hebrew name for God. There is no question who the subject is here. It is God and God alone.

Is

Wile God was and always will be, for a disciple to be active in ministry requires the recognition that God is. He is present. He is active currently. He is here and now. He is I AM.

My

Possession. Who is He to me really? Who am I to Him really? Sometimes I’m not prepared for the answers.

Shepherd

Not chaperone. Not supervisor. Not overseer. Looking out for someone takes work and attentiveness. But to shepherd implies caring and compassion. It is not someone who is above others giving commands. It is not just hanging out to make sure things run smoothly. Shepherding requires daily personal contact between the shepherd and the sheep. And it’s me. I’m a sheep in need of daily contact. Direction. Attention. All from my Shepherd.

I shall not (be in) want

What do I want? (current answer: chicken.) Many preachers I’ve sat under have used this as a strictly physical need passage. Given what the next few lines are, this is an easy assumption. But what if the things I no longer want make the jump to the spiritual? What if I am no longer in want where my soul is concerned? I want peace. I want joy. What if I said I shall not be in lack instead? If the Lord is truly my Shepherd I should not be in lack of the things of God. I do not lack peace. I do not lack joy.

He makes me

Modern feminists will probably freak out about the start of that sentence. “No man gonna make me do anything!” Hot tip: God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent (Numbers 23:19) He makes me. Let Him. I need God to make me sit down. Or listen. Or shut up. “He makes me” isn’t saying God is a dictator. Or an abuser. Or even an insensitive clod. Because He knows what’s best for me, He makes me do something that will benefit me. In that process, God still gets the glory.

Lie down

Ask anyone how they’re doing and the answer is most likely tired. Most of us would just like to have some relax time. Time to lie down. The Psalmist says God makes us lie down. Even as ew want to rest, we still have to be told to do so. Multitasking is not a ministry. Busy is not a blessing. God isn’t barking orders like I do to my dog. He’s not pointing and commanding. His presence is so compelling that I know there is a blessing to be had in obedience.

In green pastures

This summer I had the privilege of seeing the open range of Kansas in all of it’s green glory. Acre after acre. Mile after mile. Sheer gorgeousness. It is an amazing sight when the wind blows and the land dances in waves of motion. It would have been quite the experience to go lie down in one of those pastures! Hiking out into a valley gave a new perspective: that grass grows up quite a bit higher than I thought! To lie down in a pasture like this would require absolute trust. Even as the grass conceals, God protects. What would it take for me to abandon all of my ideas about control and just lie down where God tells me? knowing He will protect me?

He leads me beside still waters

God goes first. That’s what leaders do. That’s what Shepherds do. In order for God to be first, God has to be first. He’s not taking me into a hurricane. He’s not throwing me into a raging sea. He loves me enough to grant me a time of respite and refreshing.

He restores my soul

Another translation reads: He refreshes my soul. The original Hebrew word means “to return, to turn back”. A walk with God will return us to Him. Quiet time with God will turn our souls back to our first love: Jesus. Unfortunately many of us want the restoration without the obedience of following where He leads. We want happy on our terms under the aegis of Christianity without the sacrifice of self to the calling of Christ which brings true joy. We don’t want restoration, just a remix.

He leads me

He’s still leading. I’m still following. Where are we going?

In paths of righteousness

Wait. Where? Path-magal-entrenchment, track. Righteousness-sedep-rightness, righteousness. He’s leading me to be entrenched in righteousness. That’s kinda weird. Why?

For His Name’s sake

Oh. All glory and honor belong to God. We sin wen we try and subvert His authority. Actively following God where He leads brings us back into right standing. He will not lead us to sin. That’s what makes the next set of verses so odd at first.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I will fear no evil,

For You are with me

Notice it doesn’t say God led us into the valley. It says God is with us. We are human. Valleys happen. Either through sin or circumstance we will find ourselves in the valley at some point. The good news is this: it is only the shadow of death. Shadows are formed when an object blocks light. Shadows are not the actual object, merely a dark figure cast by light being intercepted. The valley is not death. There is evil in the shadow, yes. But I don’t need to be afraid of any of it. I know God is with me. The Shepherd is leading. The gospel of John says this: “In Him was life, and the life was the light of men and the light shone in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it.” James 1:17 reads this: “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no shadow of turning.” There is no death in God. There isn’t even a shadow of death in God. I can walk through the valley with confidence (not arrogance) because He is with me.

Your rod and Your staff comfort me

“Rod” brings to mind spankings. “Staff” brings up images of disease even though the spelling is different. Neither of these is comforting. Hey God? What gives? According to animals.mom.com the rod is carried for defense. It can be lobbed to scare off predators. It can also be tossed into a herd of sheep to prevent splintering- sheep taking off in another direction. It is a short, heavy club-like device also used for counting sheep. The rod is a sign of God’s strength. It takes a strong arm to wield a rod. It is comforting that the Rod of the Lord keeps predators away while also preventing me from running off into trouble. I am counted as one of His flock.

The staff is unique to shepherding. It is the only profession to use it. Unlike the rod, a staff is long and thin with a curved top also called a crook. It is used to direct the flock. It is also used to retrieve sheep that get lost. God’s staff provides lovingkindness by it’s guidance. With His rod in one hand and staff in the other, God’s protection in the valley is on both sides of me.

You prepare a table before me

This ain’t no potluck! (side note: come ON chicken! I have a hungry happening!) The table of God is for family. Community. All are welcome to come to the table. Jesus parable in Luke 14 tells of a feast that has some wild implications for the believer. Go read it, dissect it, figure it out for your life. One day believers will sit at the marriage supper of the Lamb. It won’t be BBQ chicken, but it will be Seder, Passover Feast. There is a table prepared before me and I’m excited!

In the presence of my enemies

I beg your pardon. Who’s here? Lord, this is NOT comforting! If the table is in front of me does that mean there’s a barricade between my enemies and me? No. Far from it. There is a table for community in front of all of us. Instead of gloating over this verse we should be using it as a prod to reconciliation. We are not called to eat at God’s table in front of people we don’t like, but rather WITH those people. They are present. We are present. God is present. We should be dining together as family.

You anoint my head with oil

The anointing of the Spirit of God bestowed by God the Father! When God Himself calls something holy, it can only be holy. I never feel worthy of the call on my life. I am the most insecure person I know. Trust doesn’t come easily. I believe! Help my unbelief! To think that the God of the universe would designate me as His constantly overwhelms me.

My cup overflows

God provides so much it can’t be contained by my finite resources. There is a saying that’s used as scripture. God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. The actual scripture is: “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful and He will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation He will also provide the way of escape that you may be able to endure it.” This speaks of negatives and temptations. The path of sin. God doesn’t want to heap us high with troubles. He wants to fill us to overflowing with His love and blessings. Why? Because that overflow can be shared. If my enemy is across the table also with an overflowing cup we share that experience. God asks us to set aside our differences as best we can and take our overflow out into the hurting world.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me

Just to recap: God leads before me. Rod and staff to the right and left of me. Green pasture under me. Oil above me. Goodness and mercy behind me, If the Lord is my shepherd there is literally no place He doesn’t have covered.

All the days of my life

God’s goodness and mercy aren’t just there to cover my butt. They are the result of living a Godly life. They’re not a gold star for good behavior. They are the manifestation of God’s presence in my life.

And I shall dwell in the house of The Lord forever

For all the rest of days I will be living in the sanctuary of God. Unhindered access. Unrestricted availability. While there is a degree of that now it pales in comparison to the joy of Heaven. Of eternity in the presence of God. I am in awe that Jesus would go to the cross and suffer and die to be resurrected so that a small one like me could be set free. Free from sin. Free from an eternity away from God.

There is no potluck theology .We don’t get to bring whatever we want to the pulpit and have everyone pick and choose what they want to consume. Our altars are not just for temporary treats from Holy Ghost goosebumps. We can’t alter the Word of God to make it more palatable for those who don’t like the taste of God’s loving rebuke. True repentance has to happen. Either the entirety of sculpture is true and inspired, or God is a liar. Either we completely trust His all surrounding provision, or we quit. Not eating at a church potluck is foolish. Not eating at the table of the Lord is eternally damning.

Will we go hungry?

Leave a comment